How to Make Perfect Kale Chips Every Time

I am obsessed with potato chips, so when I heard that kale chips tasted like real chips I was both doubtful and curious and had to give it a try.

My first few attempts at making them were complete disasters.

First time I burnt them.  Not wanting them to go to waste I thought, I’ll eat them anyways.  Bad idea.  Burnt kale chips are disgusting.  Second time I put wayyy too much olive oil on them and they didn’t really cook very well (I also put the heat on incredibly low to avoid burning them).  They ended up soggy and just so greasy.

Now, after much trial and error, I like to think now that I have mastered the art of kale chips.

Here’s the trick: turn the oven on to 350, let it heat up, turn it off, and then put the kale chips in.  The oven stays hot and the kale chips cook slowly, without being scorched.

How to Make Awesome Kale Chips

  1. Turn oven on to 350 degrees.  When the oven has been preheated, turn it off.  Seriously, this is the trick!
  2. Get a bunch of kale – you’ll need more than you think.  They shrivel up quite a bit once cooked.
    kale
  3. Break it up into pieces about the size of your palm.  Use only the leaves.
    Kale-Chips-3
  4. Put into a bowl, sprinkle with olive oil and shake.  You don’t need a lot of oil.  I read somewhere that it’s best if you massage the oil into the leaves.  I don’t go that far, but if you feel so inclined, go to town.
    kale in bowl
  5. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or tin foil.
  6. Spread kale evenly.
  7. Put into warm oven.
  8. Bake for about 20 minutes.  You can just check in on them.  If they’re crispy, they’re done.  They should be a bright green with little to no brown.  Brown = burnt.
  9. Sprinkle with salt.
    kale chips final
  10. Enjoy!

If you have extra you can store them for a few days in a brown paper bag.

Do they taste like real chips?  Ya, actually, they kind of do (although Danny disagrees).  Will they ever replace real chips?  No way.  But they are a good snack.

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “How to Make Perfect Kale Chips Every Time

  1. One of my yoga ladies bought me kale chips last year for x-mas. I was a bit unsure about it as I have never tried them but were pleasantly surprised. I have bought maybe one or two tubs over the year myself, but find them rather expensive. This sounds like an easy recipe, but I never see any kale in our shops :-(.

  2. Jacki says:

    Just made my first batch! They were surprisly good! Followed your directions and they turned out perfect. Great tips, now to experient with some seasoning!

Leave a Reply

