100 day challenge: Do the Splits

In addition to my monthly habits, I’ve decided to do 100 day challenges.  Three of them to be exact.

First 100 day challenge

I have a secret to tell you: that woman in the picture is not me.  I cannot do that.  In fact, I am quite far from doing that.  But that’s all going to change.  That’s right.  My first 100 day challenge is to do the splits.

Pretty exciting stuff.

Here’s my plan: I’m going to make 10 second videos, every day, of my attempts to do the splits.  These videos will be posted on the ever so awesome Give it 100 website.  I’ll then make weekly videos showing my progress, which I will share with you here and on the Cultivating Habits Facebook page.   This will:

  • help keep me accountable
  • help keep me motivated (hello progress!)

Now obviously if I want to actually achieve this goal I have to give it more than 10 seconds a day.  My plan is to set aside 10 minutes a day to focus on stretches for the splits.  I can do this while I’m watching a movie or fit it into my daily yoga practice.

Yesterday I did this great 1 hour yoga routine for hips and hamstrings.

Throughout this challenge I will be following stretches for the splits video, keeping up with my yoga, and practicing every day.

This is the basic routine that I’ll be doing at least three times a week:

My hip flexors are very tight and angry, so I’m hoping the stretching will help them to chill out – and that is my big reason for why I’m doing this.  Because if there’s one thing I’ve learned about cultivating new habits it’s this: you need a good reason for doing it.

Check out my progress updates!

Week 12…

Join me for this month’s 21 Day Creativity Challenge – Starts November 1st 2014

creativity banner

14 thoughts on “100 day challenge: Do the Splits

  1. Hi Mary – love your blog! This is an awesome habit – I will join you as well. I am also cultivating habits starting this January on my blog – starting with green smoothies! I too have tight hip flexors, so this is such a great 100 dayer! Love it!

    • Thank you! I love your blog too – you have some really good (and practical) tips – particularly the radiant skin section (I love Suki products!). You’ll have to let me know how your splits come along 🙂

  2. It’s nice that you did try for 100 days though:). Also I started doing a lot of ballet as adult, nothing before, and of course I need to get into splits for it too. I have to say that I did a lot of reading on going into splits as an adult, and what I can say is that depending on the person, even if you stretch every day, it can take you anywhere between few weeks and a year- a whole year. So don’t get discouraged.
    Also I was doing the stretches into splits as much as I can each time at dance 3 times a week, and then any chance I can, sometimes every day, sometimes just once in a while. And the what I noticed was that it would be uneven progress. I would stretch over and over for months- and then suddenly I would drop an 1 cm closer to the floor, or even less, but still, noticeable to me difference. This happened may be 3 or 4 times during the last 6 months. I still have long way to go though.

    • Thanks for the encouragement! A friend of mine recently said something very similar – every body is different and it’s the subtle shifts that matter. Interesting that you noticed it at specific times and not just gradually. I felt the same way – it feels very cool to actually feel and notice the shift. Keep trying! I will too 🙂

Leave a Reply

