Feel Healthier Days 2 and 3

I was going to just write an update on yesterday’s progress (day 2) but realized that I have no idea how I did yesterday.

My days are too long.

So I figured I’m probably better off recapping the day at the end of the day.  Makes sense.

So here we go.

Day 2 (Yesterday)

Eat well.

It’s a good thing I took pictures, otherwise I’d be drawing a complete blank.  Thanks to my visual reminder, I can say that yesterday was a big carb day.  What can I say, I was hungry.

13084267_10154241596344170_897978965_n

I had a small breakfast (oatmeal, yogurt and papaya) and ate all my lunch and snacks by noon.  By three I was starving and bought a raisin bread cake thing (which was super disappointing). And, apparently, a giant plate of pasta wasn’t enough dinner for me because I had a bowl of cereal an hour later.

I woke up the next morning with a headache and a stomach ache.

Takeaway for the day: Bigger breakfast. More veggies.  Less bread.

Drink water.

I refilled my water bottle twice at work.  I think that’s going to be my baseline, or bare minimum.

Move my body.

I couldn’t remember if I went for a walk and then my phone pictures reminded me that, yes, I did and I enjoyed it very much (thank you phone!).  It was a chilly 45 minute walk but so worth it.

I also did a 30 minute yoga routine from www.doyogawithme.com and that was lovely, as always

Sleep well.

I’m considering taking this one off the list of habits to cultivate this time around.  As much as I want to get 8-10 hours of non-interrupted sleep the reality is that I have a baby and he makes noise and I wake up.  A lot.  I do go to bed early, but I can’t always fall asleep easily.

Last night I was in bed reading at 8:30.  Didn’t fall asleep till after 11.

Day 3 (Today)

Eat well.

Much better day today.  Had a bigger breakfast.  Lots of veggies.  And I even skipped my afternoon coffee so we’ll see if that helps me to sleep better tonight.

13077393_10154241596444170_88189678_n

I guess posting this at the end of the day is good incentive to not snack at night time.  I kind of want cereal though.

Drink water.

I didn’t quite make it through two water bottles while at work today.  Going to put more effort into this tomorrow.

Move my body.

I went for a 30 minute walk and I also made it out to a yin yoga class.  It was a hot class all about the hips and it was heavenly.

Sleep well.

It’s only 8pm now and I’m falling asleep typing this.  Looks like skipping that afternoon coffee is working…

All in All

Not such a bad first few days.  I’m definitely becoming more aware of these four habits, which is really the first step in making any change.

See you tomorrow!

 

 

Leave a Reply

