Do Something Different

I got an email today from a program that I did years ago called ‘Do Something’.  It was a 14 day program that motivates you to get out of your comfort zone and do things you would not normally do.

To shake things up.

To see things from a new perspective and experience something different.

Each day for 14 days I received an email telling me what to do.  It remember some being interesting and some being pretty lame.  I did them all for the first few days and then I started lagging.  I don’t think I completed the program.

Which is not like me!  I’m a cultivator of new habits! I stick to my goals and do what I say I’m going to do.

Turns out, I do what I say I’ll do, not what others tell me to do.  I guess that’s not so surprising.  After all, the motivation behind my own personal goals and testing out a new program are very different.

BUT – I loved the idea, and I still do, which is why when I got this email from them announcing a new program I immediately signed up.

The Do Something Different Program

So this one again is a 14 day program. For 14 days I will receive emails with things to do.  I can then log into the app check off that I did it (gotta love a little accountability built in!) and I can comment and share my thoughts with other people in the community.

Before starting the program they had me answer a bunch of questions.  They do this so that they can tailor the program for you so that you’ll get the most out of it.  They asked things like:

  • behaviours that best describe me (like introverted, extroverted, calm, energetic, etc)
  • some of my habits (like screen time, spending time with people you love, noticing good things around you, etc)
  • my wellbeing (feeling happy, coping well with problems, physical heath, etc)

They then gave me a ‘score’ – which I gotta be honest, I think is a load of crap.  They say that I’m only using 10% of my potential personality.  Oh and that 80% of my personality is waiting to be unlocked – ha yeah, ok.

Despite this silly report, I’m still open to giving it a try.

The First Do

So I got my first ‘do’ right away and it’s an easy one: switch seats today.

And I’m gonna do it.  I work at a university (and I do all my work on a laptop) so there are a lot of great places that I can go work.  Maybe I’ll go work here today:

screen-shot-2016-09-08-at-9-56-03-am

Only it won’t look like this because 1: it’s rainy and gloomy outside, and 2: it’s the second day of classes and the campus is packed with students.

I’m sure I can find a quiet place on campus to work.

I’ll keep you posted on this program and let you know how it goes.  Or you can just give it a try yourself (it’s free).

 

3 thoughts on “Do Something Different

Leave a Reply

