Getting Back on the Mat

I just finished my Tuesday workout – yoga.  This was the first full yoga routine that I have done in a very long time and it felt so good.

I mentioned in my last post that I had a tough pregnancy.  Back in May 2016 I, and my whole family, got really sick. I got the stomach bug, followed by a cold, followed by a horrible sinus infection.   Then just as I was feeling better, I started to experience morning (more like all day) sickness.  That lasted for months.  I also experienced a lot of physical discomfort this pregnancy – a lot of pain in my back and hips and I found the more I moved the worse it got.

All that to say, it’s pretty much been a year since I’ve done any kind of physical activity, including yoga.

Today’s Progress Report

The yoga routine that I chose to do today was one designed for postpartum – this is it here.  I have some separation in my abs so I need to be careful not to do crunches or anything that could strain those muscles.

I did the routine right after I put Isabel down for her first nap of the day.  I think this will be the time that I do all of my exercises.  She only napped for 45 minutes but it gave me enough time to do the 30 minute routine.

I have to be honest, I got a little bored half way through.  It was a really slow practice and I’m a little rusty so I’m not going to read too much into this.  I checked to see how much time was left on the video at 27 minutes, so not bad, and I did make it all the way through to the end.

Plan for Tomorrow

Tomorrow Danny has me doing:

SQUATS BANDS/ WEIGHTS
LUNGES BANDS/ WEIGHTS
AB THINGIE

We were going to buy some bands last weekend but we never got around to it so I’ll be doing the squats and lunges with weights.  As for the ‘ab thingie’ – well, you’ll just have to wait and see what that means 😉

So until tomorrow..

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

