10 Minute Clean Up

Have you guys seen the movie Adventures in Babysitting?  You know that scene at the end when they all get back from their crazy night and Chris (the babysitter) does a quick clean up of the house?  That scene for some reason always stuck with me – weird, I know.  It just showed how quickly you can get shit done when you really need or want to.

Some days I look around the house and just feel overwhelmed with how messy it is.  And too lazy and tired to do anything about it.  But I know I can’t relax if the place is a mess.  So what I do is put on a good song and tell myself to just clean to that song.  Get as much done as I can and leave it at that.

Doing that not only gets me started, but I usually end up cleaning for longer.  But even if I just do clean for the length of that song I find I can actually get a lot done.

So if you’re like me and don’t feel like cleaning, try just doing it for one song.  Or set a timer for 10 minutes.

Here is an awesome example of the 10 minute clean up which I found pretty motivating.  Plus, I like the song a lot.

 

Oh and I didn’t really do my exercise challenge yesterday.  I did move my body though.  We went for nice walk as a family in the morning – Nathan pretty much ran the whole time.

A running toddler is pretty  much the cutest thing in the world, by the way.

When we got home I decided to attempt to do Monday’s workout instead which was pushups and shoulder thingies.  I did a few modified pushups and felt extremely wimpy.  Then Nathan climbed on my back and I did a few more and we had a good laugh.

So all in all, not a complete write-off.

Leave a Reply

