Three Things I Need To Start Doing

So I’m having a bit of a hard time keeping up with this fitness challenge.  I did the pushups and shoulder exercises on Monday, but I didn’t do yoga on Tuesday nor did I do yesterday’s exercises.

Not good.

But I’m trying not to be too hard on myself because:

  1. I have an 11 week old.  As amazing of a sleeper as she is, she’s only 11 weeks old and I’m still getting up in the night with her at least once.  Taking care of a baby (and a toddler) is also pretty time consuming and when I do have a moment to myself I’d honestly rather lay on the couch watching bad tv than do pushups.
  2. I just had a baby 11 weeks ago.  The last few weeks of pregnancy and the first few weeks I got very little sleep.  I feel like I have some major sleep catch up to do.  Plus, even though my postpartum recovery has been amazing, pretty sure my body is still recovering.

I know, excuses excuses.

The original plan was to do the exercises while they nap.  When I’m not tired from being up in the night I can totally do it during Isabel’s morning nap.  If that doesn’t work out, and the stars align and Nathan and Isabel nap at the same time, I can do it in the afternoon.

But then there’s days like today.  Nathan is home with me because he’s sick so I spent the morning with him.  Then he went for a nap just as Isabel was waking up.  I just put Isabel down for another nap and I can hear Nathan waking up now.

And then I think, I can just do it when they are awake.  But honestly, I’d rather play with my babies.

I guess the thing is if I really want to bring fitness back into my life, I need to do to things:

  1. I need to prioritize it.  I have the time.  I do.  I mean, it only takes 15 or 20 minutes – I can for sure find that somewhere in my day.
  2. I need to take it one day at a time.  If I miss a day, it’s ok.  One day missed does not have to mean the end of the whole thing – which is kind of how my mind works.  I need to be flexible and I need to be forgiving.
  3. I need to just start.  When I’m tired just the thought of doing exercises is exhausting.  But if I just start, it’s easy to go on.  If I tell myself: just do one pushup, there’s a good chance I’ll do more.

So today’s exercise is elliptical, which is too bad because that’s one that I really can’t do with the babies around today.  So instead, in the spirit of flexibility, I’m going to do some yoga – seeing as I skipped Tuesday.

I’m sure I can find a mom and toddler yoga routine on youtube…that should be interesting.

Leave a Reply

